Grilled to perfection! Quick, easy and delicious!

Standard

So my husband and I have been trying to incorporate more veggies in our diet. Sometimes its hard making vegetables the star of the show in a meal. So we decided to make eating vegetables more like an adventure!


MARINATED CHICKEN BREAST AND SHRIMP W/ ASPARAGUS, CORN, A WHOLE TOMATO, AND A MUSHROOM, BELL PEPPER AND ONION SHISH-KABOB.

photo 1


Grilled Chicken Marinade:

1 whole Lemon.

1/2 lime squeeze.

1 tablespoon of garlic, pressed or chopped.

2 teaspoons of salt.

Fresh cracked black pepper

1/2 cup of EXTRA VIRGIN Olive Oil.

  •  I marinated the chicken for 6 hours in a closed lid container before grilling. The shrimp had only been marinating in lemon juice and old bay for a short while. The acidity in the lemon can cook the shrimp so I did not want the shrimp cooked before I added it to the grill!

Shrimp:

Basic blackened seasoning or Old Bay Seasoning.

Lemon Juice

Salt to taste.

Veggies:

For any vegetable shish-kabob I like to use just a drizzle of low sodium soy sauce,  cayenne ( for spice) and sea salt. The soy sauce paired with the smokey flavor from the grill adds such a delicious and well balanced flavor.

TIP: Fresh sea salt works best, much better than table salt!!!

Prep Time: It took me 10 minutes to prep my veggies. It just consisted of me washing them thoroughly, then preparing the shish kabobs and skewering mushrooms, onions then bell pepper in that order.

Cooking: The vegetables were placed on the grill first. I placed them all directly on the grill, no foil at all. I waited for the flame to go down slightly, closed the lid and smoked them for a good 20-25 minutes. Every 5 minutes I would move the corn, and adjust the asparagus to cook evenly.

Lastly, the chicken and shrimp were grilled. It took roughly 20 minutes to smoke. If you’re using bone-in chicken, add 10 more minutes to your cooking time to and make sure the chicken is cooked through. I used chicken breasts so I did not want them to be dried out!


And Finally!!

photo 2


 

…Look at the grill marks on the corn!!! The asparagus was cooked perfectly, the mushrooms, onions and red bell pepper were all so juicy, the chicken was tender, and lastly, that huge heirloom tomato GUSHED!

At the last minute (per my husbands request) I did add a small cut of filet mignon which I wrapped in bacon ( I know, I know). I will be making another post soon on how I seasoned and wrapped the filet.

This was by far my best grilling experience. It was quick, and easy. I HIGHLY recommend it, especially if you’re looking spice up your vegetable life, vegetables always taste better grilled!

2 thoughts on “Grilled to perfection! Quick, easy and delicious!

Leave a Reply

