Shrimp Scampi

Standard

This is my take on shrimp scampi. I love spice so I had to incorporate a habanero chile in with the mix! If you haven’t had a habanero chile, i can honestly say its one of the few peppers that has spice AND flavor! If you’re on a diet, im so sorry…because I used a lot of butter for this recipe! lol

I had this over angel hair pasta with fresh spinach on the side….AMAZING and I recommend trying it that way!

Prep: 5 minutes. Cook time: 10 minutes. Total: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1-2lbs of shrimp peeled and de-veined
  • 1 whole lemon- sliced.
  • 1/2 habanero chile diced finely
  • 1/2 cup of white onion diced finely
  • 1 cup of chopped parsley
  • 3 cloves of garlic chopped
  • 3 tablespoons of butter
  • 1/4 cup of chopped tomato ( optional)
  • 1 teaspoon of bread crumbs ( optional)

IMG_2344IMG_2345 IMG_2348

Directions: In a skillet add olive oil ( about 1 tablespoon or enough to coat the pan) and add butter, garlic and onion and saute on medium heat. Have your parsley, lemon and habanero ready.

IMG_2349 IMG_2350 IMG_2351

Next squeeze in lemon. I cut it in several slices, squeezed juice and threw the rest in the pan. I also added my habanero.

IMG_2352

Now add your parsley. Continue to saute over medium heat.IMG_2353

If you like, add tomatoes. I think adding tomatoes cuts a little bit of the heat from the habanero and gives the scampi some freshness.IMG_2354

Then I added a little bread crumbs just for some extra BITE. But this is totally optional as well.

IMG_2355

Once your shrimp is pink, you can eat it with any kind of pasta you like, or have it with some fresh baked bread or a baguette! IMG_2356

I decided to have it over angel hair pasta and some fresh spinach on the side!

IMG_2359

Leave a Reply

