Round Steak N’ Gravy

Standard

This is a childhood favorite of mine. I can remember coming home from school and the entire house smelling like gravy!! I was such a fat kid, I really loved eating! I always asked for seconds, and thirds if my mom would let me lol. This is a homage to my indulgent childhood. I thank my grandmother for showing my mom this recipe. Its inexpensive, and easy to make A LOT of it.

Note: Make sure you ask the butcher to run it through the tenderizer twice. Usually cheaper cuts of meat need to be tenderized which is why this gravy recipe is so perfect- its softens it up quite nicely! With this dish you can serve it over rice, or potatoes and whatever veggie you like.

IMG_2981

Prep: 5 minutes Cook time: 10 minutes in the skillet. 40 minutes in gravy. Total: 55 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1lb of round steak cute into pieces.
  • 1 onion
  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 3 tablespoons of canola oil
  • 3 cups of beef broth or  2 tablespoons of beef bouillon.IMG_2960

Seasonings:

  • 2 tablespoons of seasoning salt
  • garlic salt to taste
  • paprika to taste
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • Flour generously

Season the steak first, then flour generously. IMG_2961

In a hot skillet with oil, fry steaks until golden brown. About 5 minutes on high then flip over and repeat for the other side. The blood will cook out of it, but most importantly it will finish cooking in the gravy. IMG_2963 IMG_2964 IMG_2965 IMG_2966

Remove the steak and let them rest on a plate. In the same skillet add onion and flour and stir to begin the gravy. Cook down until onions are slightly transparent.IMG_2967 IMG_2968

Once the flour and oil begin to mix, add a little black pepper then whisk quickly the 3 cups of broth. IMG_2970 IMG_2971

The broth should give it a nice color…IMG_2973

Next, add your steak back into the pan and cook down for 40 minutes on medium to low heat. I added a touch of chopped parsley because it looked pretty! lol IMG_2974 IMG_2978

Once your steak is nice and tender, serve over rice or potatoes. I opted to do rice and peas since that’s what I grew up eating…The flavor combinations take me back to my childhood!

ENJOY!

IMG_2980

Leave a Reply

