Cheesy Chicken N’ Mushroom Casserole

Standard

I didn’t eat much casserole growing up, it was usually the standard tuna casserole. As i continue experimenting with different flavor combinations I think I will start making more casseroles. Some people like to keep their food totally separate, but sometimes it’s fun mixing together a bunch of different ingredients into a boiling hot pan of cheesy-casserole goodness!

This recipe is super easy. Prep: 10 minutes (not including the time it took for me to sear and dice the chicken up that took about 10 minutes). Cook time: 30 minutes.

IMG_3063

Ingredients:

  • 2 bone in chicken breasts, seared/cooked and diced into chunks.
  • 1 cup of mushrooms
  • 2 cups of shredded cheese
  • 1/2 cup of bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup of peas and chopped carrots
  • 1/2 white onion
  • 1 tall can of cream of mushroom soup
  • 3/4 bag of egg noodles

IMG_3030 IMG_3034 IMG_3035

I seared the entire breasts to lock in the flavor. I did a basic seasoning of seasoning salt, black pepper and salt with a little paprika.

IMG_3029

Once I diced the chicken I added it back to the pan and sauteed until the chicken was cooked through. IMG_3036 IMG_3037

In the same pan I sauteed mushrooms, and onions for about 5 minutes. IMG_3039

Then I added the cream of mushroom while the pan was still hot. Once the cream of mushroom is nice and liquified, I began assembling the casserole. IMG_3040

I cooked my bag of eggs noodles and set them aside. I halfway cooked them because they will finish cooking in the oven. I made 3/4 of the entire bag. IMG_3042

I added the egg noodles, cream of mushroom, peas, mushrooms and cheese and began mixing and layering. I used a large wooden spoon and kept folding over. IMG_3043

The I added the carrots last. You can use fresh carrots or canned, whichever you prefer.   IMG_3046

I then added the breadcrumbs, then the cheese on top.IMG_3047 IMG_3048

I baked in the oven on 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until the cheese was nicely melted and the casserole was bubbly. IMG_3053

IMG_3054  IMG_3058

Leave a Reply

