Citrus Marinade- HEALTHY AND DELICIOUS on SHRIMP AND FISH.

Standard

So if you’re in California, you are fully aware of how hot its about to be and you are fully aware and accepting that winter is over, the rain is finished, no more foggy, cool, over-cast type days…stew season is over, and we have now been forced into eating salads, more fresh seafood, stir fry’s and anything with citrus because its HOT AS HELL outside and everybody is now trying to “watch their figure”.

So, because stew season is over, and i’ve been craving all things citrus, I wanted to do a marinade and take out all my fish and shrimp in the freezer and cook it altogether…a little Hodge-Bodge  of seafood…so this recipe can translate to any time of fish or any type of seafood for any occasion, at any time…

I used:

  • 3 lemons cut in slices
  • 1 whole shallot
  • 2 cups of fresh parsley
  • 4 cloves of garlic
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 whole habanero for heat (optional)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 teaspoon of paprika for color

I used 1lb of jumbo shrimp and 6 pieces of raw tilapia and combined all the ingredients and placed it in a large zip lock bag and let it sit for 4 hours.

CM1 CM2

So now, we can get to the food preparation…After i removed the fish and shrimp, I wanted to cook the fish in the skillet so I could control the sear on it. And I opted to bake the shrimp because It gives it a nice plump texture.

F1

Just a little butter… lol…. I cooked this down for 15 minutes on medium heat. If you want more of a sear, turn the heat up higher. F2 F3 F4

I cooked this at the same time as the fish because I wanted them to be done around the same time. I opted to bake all the remnants from the marinade in with the shrimp. I cooked it on 350 degrees for 10 minutes. S1

And there you go! It was simple, and healthy. I also decided to make some asparagus- and it went well together!S2

Leave a Reply

