Tilapia in Chardonnay Lemon-Butter Sauce

Standard

Tilapia is such a light, flavorless fish…but the good thing about tilapia is that, it taste exactly how you season it so naturally if you season it well, it will taste delicious.

I had a bunch of frozen Tilapia in my freezer and wanted to do a little more than the bake, basic pan-fry or sear…so I thought adding a sauce! Honestly, I had bottles of chardonnay in my fridge, lots of butter, lemon and garlic……4 ingredients that I always seem to have on hand lol

To my surprise, my creation was actually amazing! I was really shocked how “gourmet” my plate looked too! lolIMG_8904

Prep: 5 minutes. Cook: 20 minutes. Total: 25 mins


The process was easy:

  • 4-6 pieces of tilapia
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1 good bottle of chardonnay ( dont cook with it if you can’t drink it!) You will only need about a tablespoon of wine.
  • 2 tablespoons of butter or margarine ( I used margarine).
  • chopped parsley
  • cajun seasoning
  • 1 whole lemon
  • 1 tablespoon of corn starch

IMG_8884

In a skillet, I sauteed garlic in extra virgin olive oil. Once your garlic is brown, CAUTIOUSLY add your wine and it will bubble and smoke a bit, control the fire. Add a little water and your butter shortly after. About 1/2 cup of water. This is what the process will look likeIMG_8885 - Copy IMG_8885

Once it cooks down and starts to melt…. Squeeze plenty of lemon juice. I cut a lemon in half and made sure all the seeds were out and used a press to make sure all the juice was out of it. IMG_8886 IMG_8887

Add parsley.IMG_8888

Next, add your corn starch. Simmer on low heat and it will begin to thicken up. IMG_8893

As your sauce thickens, set it aside covered on low heat. Now you’re ready to cook the fish!IMG_8894

In a separate skillet, add butter and olive oil to the pan, and sear your tilapia. I rubbed a little parsley on there for color. I also added small bits of garlic that was leftover.IMG_8895

I cooked the fish until it was nice and brown. 7 minutes on each side. And once the fish was done, I laid them out on a plate and drizzled the sauce on them! IMG_8897

IMG_8902  IMG_8908

Leave a Reply

