Crab Cakes & My Tapas Spread

Standard

For my birthday, I went to this Restaurant in Vegas called ‘JALEO’ by celebrity Chef Jose’ Andres. It is a Spanish Tapas Restaurant and it has an EXTENSIVE menu… ( Spanish Tapas= small plates). I sometimes like the idea of having several small plates of different types of foods rather than one big plate of something. So my experience at Jose Andres inspired this post. I highly recommend checking out his restaurant….

So I made a SPREAD…in commemoration to my experience and I wanted to share one of the recipes from the spread. By the way here is the entire spread:

Crab Cakes, Stuffed Bell Pepper Boats, Gambas al Ajillo ( Shrimp and Garlic) and Asparagus Wrapped in Proscioutto and stuffed with swiss cheese.

IMG_0212

Now lets begin!!

Ingredients for the crab cakes:

  • 2lbs of crab legs removed from the shell.
  • 1 tablespoon of mayonnaise
  • 1-2 cups of bread crumbs
  • 2 tablespoons of lemon juice
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of celery, red onion, white onion and green onions.
  • 1 tablespoon of paprika
  • 1 tablespoon of cayenne

IMG_0190

Combine ingredients in all in a bowl and mix evenly.

IMG_0198 IMG_0199 IMG_0200 IMG_0201

Form your patties to your desired size.IMG_0202

Coat with a little more bread crumbs just to make sure the crab cakes stay together tightly. IMG_0203

In a skillet, combine butter and olive oil and sear until crab cakes are brown. 5 minutes on each side, alternating ( atleast twice). IMG_0207 IMG_0208 IMG_0209

And plate!

IMG_0211

Next, I will show you just a few of the steps for some of the other recipes… For my bell pepper boats, I used ground pork and chorizo and monterrey jack cheese.

I also used celery, onion, red onion for the meat mixture. And baked for 350 for 20 minutes.

IMG_0191 IMG_0192 IMG_0193

IMG_0213

ASPARAGUS Stuffed with Swiss Cheese, Wrapped in Prosciutto. Baked on 350 for 15 minutes.

IMG_0194 IMG_0195 IMG_0196  IMG_0214


Leave a Reply

